Perry County Mental Health Board

Formed in 1978, through Senate Bill 642, the citizens of Perry County passed a tax to generate funds for mental health services.  Within the law, there was a provision for the administration and distribution of the funds, requiring the establishment of the Perry County Mental Health Board. The tax generates roughly $350,000 annually for distribution. 

The board's responsibility is to distribute funds to contractors for the provision of mental health services to Perry County residents. 

The board consists of 9 members who are appointed by the Perry County Commission to 3 year terms that begin in July. The board meets 6 or 7 times a year, with October being the month when allocation forms are received, and November being when the board determines how much to allocate to agencies. Allocations are distributed quarterly in January, April, July and October. All agencies receiving allocations must be certified mental health providers by the State of Missouri. 


  • Desiree Serini expires 2026
  • Angie Huber -  President expires 2024
  • Angie Schindler, Secretary, expires 2024
  • Angie Pfaff, Treasurer, expires 2025
  • Philip Burger, expires 2026
  • Lori Bronenkant, expires 2026
  • Mike Zahner, expires 2024
  • Lisa Hemman, expires 2025
  • Vacant, expires 2025

If you have any questions or are interested in serving on the Perry County Youth Tax Board, please contact the Perry County Clerk at 573-547-4242, or email at Submit a letter of interest, along with a Board, Commission or Committee Application Form to the Perry County Commission one month prior to the month of selection in order to be considered for a position. Should mid-term resignations occur, the Commission will inform the community and request individuals put their interest in serving in writing. Letters of interest and applications can be mailed to the Perry County Commission at 321 N Main St., Suite 2, Perryville MO 63775, or delivered in person to the Perry County Clerk's office located on the first floor of the Perry County Administration Building at the previously address as listed . 

Board, Commission or Committee Application Form can be found here